Dear Beachwood,
Suze Orman once said, “Nobody cares more about your money than you do”, which I now believe is absolutely true.  I spent most of my life running away from my parent’s success. Both of my parents achieved financial success, through hard work and perseverance.  Unfortunately, neither of my parents managed their money very well.
My father, who only had an eight grade education, owned a successful trucking company and was part owner of a seafood market. My mother on the other hand, who was a single mom, worked in the medical field as a Dialysis Technician. She was one of the best in her field, which afforded her a very generous salary. Yes, life was good for the most part, but neither of my parents gave much thought to the future. My father lost everything, due to poor planning. My mother’s health failed her at an early age, which forced her to have to go on disability.
In order to not follow in their foot steps, I chose to go to college and learn as much as I could about money management.  Well, as much as I did not want to be like my parents, I have become them. But as Oprah Winfrey often says, “When you know better you do better”, which what I am attempting to do every day. This empowering statement leads to my Lessons learned this week.
For starters, have you ever notice how upset some people get when you make the mistake of asking them a question? Well, my first quest last week was to speak with my telephone provider. Since I had some questions about my bill, I decided to give them a call. The first person I spoke with kept putting me on hold, while they checked my account. Every time she came back to the phone I would give her a summary of everything she told me. I would then follow up with another question, which irritated her to no end. Once our conversation was over, I chose to call back in order to speak with someone else. Something in my gut was telling me, that she had given me incorrect information. The second person I spoke with transferred me someone else, who obviously had the day off, so I called back a third time. After taking some time to explain my situation, the representative fixed my problem in less than 10 minutes. Finally, she apologized for the confusion and then as a kind gesture gave me a new discounted rate.  
No matter how frustrated someone becomes… keep asking questions. It is your money and nobody cares about your money more than you do. Take charge of your finances… I was on a roll last week, so I decided to called my son’s Ophthalmologist to see if I could get a better price on his glasses. Again, just by asking some questions I was told that I did not have to pay the original balance due of $178.00. After performing some recalculation, my balance is now $0.00 or some where close to it.  
If someone gets frustrated by your questions, don’t give up. Keep asking until you are sure you understand what is expected of you the consequences of your decision.  
Have a good week!
Daisy Lucas
“A Woman of Purpose and Destiny”
7/11/2012 01:55:58 pm

nice post

Reply
9/24/2012 01:43:05 pm

Great info, thanks

Reply
Solehuddin
2/24/2022 11:11:58 pm

thank you for nice information, finally i found what I'm searching for.
visit our website: <a href="https://uhamka.ac.id/">https://uhamka.ac.id/</a> , <a href="https://journal.uhamka.ac.id/index.php/rektek/index">Journal UHAMKA</a>

Reply



Leave a Reply.