Dear Beachwood,
As we approach Thanksgiving, let us continue to be mindful of our spending. It is so easily to get caught up in the holiday spending, that we forget the true meaning of the holiday. Thanksgiving is a time for us to be thankful.
For many years, I spent lots of money and time trying to prepare the perfect Thanksgiving Dinner. I would spend my last dollar trying to make an impression on my family and guest. I would invite everyone I knew. My home would be filled with food and laughter. I loved to hear my family and friends praises…. Oh, Daisy your house is beautiful. Oh, Daisy this food tastes wonderful. You are doing so well for yourself. Mmm….if they only knew. I had maxed out my credit cards and spent every dime I had to impress them.
While my guests were eating and enjoying themselves, I was secretly calculating how I was going to pay my utility bills and mortgage for the month of November. My stomach would be doing flips. My nerves would be torn all to pieces. Sometimes I could not even sit down and eat, because I was so worried about my bills. To make matters worse many of my guests would take plates of food home, which would leave me trying to figure our how I was going to eat for the next couple of days. I am so thankful, that I no longer feel the need to betray myself like this any more.
No, this Thanksgiving will be much different. I get it… I am so thankful for life and the things that I have been able to experience these past couple of years. My son and I are soaring to new heights. We will spend this Thanksgiving with our family and friends without breaking the bank. We will have all of the fixings for a traditional Thanksgiving Dinner, but on a much smaller scale. While we eat, we will remember to give thanks for all of our blessings.
One of the things that I am most thankful for is my Beachwood neighbors. You guys are absolutely wonderful! I am so blessed to have neighbors like you. We are all working together for one common goal, which is to make our neighborhood a better place to live. Every one of you in your own little way continues to encouragement me to keep going.
My son and I would like to take this time to wish all our Beachwood neighbors a very HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!
Daisy Lucas
“A Woman of Purpose and Destiny”



Leave a Reply.