_Dear Beachwood,
By now most of you are aware of our first annual Beachwood Can Food Drive which began on December 3, 2011 and will run through December 17, 2011. I am so excited to be apart of this great event!  We are so fortunate to be apart of a neighborhood, where neighbors helping neighbors is not just a cliché’.
It was not long ago, when some of my neighbors took it upon themselves to assist my son and me during a difficult period in our life.  I never thought any of my neighbors noticed me or had any idea of what I was going through.  For instance, one of my brothers stopped by my home, while I was away at work, to make some minor repairs to my home.  He later told me that from the time he arrived and until he actually left my home he had been closely watched by neighbors. I called this scenario the Pilton Place Community Watch.
Shortly thereafter one of my neighbors started having my son and me over for dinner. It was not long after the invites to dinner, they started dropping off groceries. My neighbors also took it upon themselves to purchase stones for my backyard, assisting me in chipping away ice from my front yard, taking my trash to the dump, along with so many other things.  I am so thankful for everything that my neighbors have done for me over the past 10 years.  They saw my needs and decided amongst their selves to do whatever they could to assist us. Ultimately, it was my neighbors who gave me the push  I needed to stay in my home. I call this scenario the Pilton Place Angels in action.
Sometimes all people need is to know that they are not alone in their struggles. The world is a scary place when you are on the bottom looking up. Just knowing that you have someone in your corner can make a world of a difference.
I am  a single mom, who at one time worked full-time and went to school part-time in the evenings. I had a limited amount of money and time. I also had too much pride to ask for help and was too ashamed to let anyone know that I needed help. I suffered for a long time in silence. Until one day one of my neighbors, watched me long enough to know that I was hurt, broken, and was in need of help.  I am now and will always be grateful to all of my neighbors, who live on Pilton Place.  Thank you for pushing me to never give up the fight. I call his scenario forever grateful!
It is now time for me to pay it forward, which is why this food drive is so important to me. If anyone knows what it is like to not have enough, I do.  My neighbors let me keep pride, but hey loved the shame right out of me.
I humbly beseech all of you to participate in the first annual Beachwood Can Food Drive. Your neighbors need your help, so please give generously.  
Daisy Lucas
“A Woman of Purpose and Destiny”



Leave a Reply.